Timeline of Malaysia

Chronology of Malaysia Independence

1400s Founding of Malacca by Parameswara.


1409 Chinese Admiral Cheng Ho arrives in Malacca.


1511 Malacca falls to the Portuguese.


The Dutch take Malacca from the Portuguese


1786 The British occupy Penang.


1819 British occupy Singapore.


Anglo-Dutch Treaty carves up Malay world into colonial spheres: Dutch cede Malacca to British and keeps Riau.


1826 Singapore, Malacca, Penang and Province Wellesley become Straits Settlements under British control.
1840s The importance of tin increases, bringing an influx of Chinese tin miners to the western coast.


1841 James Brooke established as Rajah of Sarawak.


1914-18 World War I.


1941-45 Japanese conquest and occupation.


1945 British reoccupy Malaya.


1946 Malayan Union scheme introduced but is opposed, formation of United Malay National Organisation (Umno); Sarawak and British North Borneo become Crown colonies.


1948 Malayan Union scheme abandoned; Federation of Malaya inaugurated.


1948-60 Communist uprising - The Emergency.


1952 Municipal elections in Kuala Lumpur; Umno and Malayan Chinese Association (MCA) parties cooperate.


1953 Alliance coalition comprising Umno, MCA and Malayan Indian Congress (MIC) formed.


1955 First general elections in the peninsula; landslide win for the Alliance.


1956 Tunku Abdul Rahman leads Merdeka Mission to London to negotiate for independence.


1957 Malaya becomes independent, and the Union Jack is lowered for the last time. The Tunku, named the Father of Independence, becomes the first prime minister of the Federation of Malaya.


1960 The state of emergency ends.


1961 The Tunku proposes a political association called Malaysia that would include Malaya, Singapore, North Borneo, Sarawak and Brunei.


1963 Creation of Malaysia without Brunei.


1965 Singapore leaves Malaysia and becomes an independent nation.


1970 Tun Abdul Razak takes office as the second Prime Minister of Malaysia, succeeding Abdul Rahman.


1976 Tun Hussein Onn appointed as the third Prime Minister of Malaysia on Jan 15, a day after the passing of Abdul Razak.


1981 Tun Hussein Onn stepped down and appointed Dato’ Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad to take over as Fourth Prime Minister


2003 Malaysia's longest-serving Prime Minister Dr Mahathir retires. He is succeeded by his deputy Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.




homepage > history of Malaysia